15.06.23 Polls Review

Between China and Belarus: The war has changed Russians' perception of their friends and enemies, but the new picture of geopolitical solidarity appears artificial and circumstantial


Belarus and China are now seen by Russians as their main allies on the geopolitical stage. They are followed by India and Iran, which have entered the circle of 'friends' thanks to the war. Kazakhstan, on the contrary, is losing the sympathy of Russian citizens and is perceived as a distant country, according to public opinion polls. The degree of hostility towards the United States and the EU has reached its peak, with Germany and France among the most hostile countries for the first time. However, as long-term trends show, the fluctuations in attitudes towards the US, Western countries, and China are highly dependent on the information background and propaganda campaigns. The current picture of Russia's geopolitical allies and opponents appears contingent and does not correspond to long-term patterns of attraction and repulsion in mutual relations.

In full accordance with official doctrine and propaganda, the  geopolitical horizon of Russian citizens is swinging from the West to Asia and the global South. According to a recent survey by the Public Opinion Foundation (FOM), Belarus (78%) and China (72%) are considered the most friendly countries to Russia. These are its two true strategic partners. India follows with a significant margin (39%), with the number of Russians’ viewing the country as a friend doubling over the past few years (in 2019, only 21% of respondents considered it a friendly country). Conversely, Kazakhstan has lost favour among the Russian public: in 2019, 49% considered it a friendly country, while in 2023, only 28% did. Turkey (27%), Iran (25%), and Brazil (17%) followed in the rankings. It should be noted that in 2019, Iran and Brazil were barely noticed by Russians (7% and 3% respectively considered them friendly countries).

The map of Russia's enemies has also undergone some changes. Russians still view the United States (82%) and Ukraine as the most unfriendly countries. The level of hostility towards Ukraine has remained unchanged since 2019 (67% compared to 66%). However, there has been a sharp consolidation of 'unfriendliness' towards Germany and France. In 2019, only 13% of those polled considered Germany unfriendly, compared with an average of 20% of respondents in the 2010s, but today the figure has risen to 50%. Attitudes towards France have been somewhat uneven over the past 10 years but, on average, 11% of those polled considered it unfriendly, while this figure stood at 36% in the latest survey. Nearly half of respondents now view the United Kingdom as unfriendly, while it had an average rating of 27% over the past decade.

The 'friendliness' list, as Russians perceive it, directly correlates with the list of Russia's most important economic partners. Here, China is the undisputed leader (70% consider it a key economic partner, compared to 47% in 2019). However, in terms of countries with which Russia finds it easiest to find common ground, only 34% mentioned China. The opposite is true of Belarus: 52% consider it among the most important economic partners, while 75% believe that the two countries share a common ground.

In terms of economic cooperation are India (32% of Russians have evaluated it as a major destination for Russian oil exports), Turkey, Kazakhstan, and Iran follow China and Belarus. In the 2010s, Germany was consistently ranked fourth in the list of the most important economic partners, noted by an average of 23% of respondents, but in 2023, only 7% mentioned it. Kazakhstan has maintained its position in the ranking of economic significance, but has shifted downwards in terms of 'common language' and mutual understanding: on average, in the 2010s, 39% of respondents mentioned Kazakhstan based on this criterion, but this year this figure stands at 30%.

Similar trends can be observed in a survey conducted by the Levada Center, shedding light on Russia's perceived allies and enemies. Belarus (77%) and China (52%, up from 39% in 2021) maintain their positions as Russia's top 'allies,' followed by India (31%, up from 13%), Kazakhstan (26%, down from 34% in 2021), and Armenia. The United States and the European Union continue to be viewed as Russia's primary adversaries.

However, it should be noted that hostility towards the 'collective West' and enduring friendship with China are not stable viewpoints among Russians. They are highly dependent on the information environment and propaganda campaigns. Prior to 2005, the positive balance of attitudes towards the United States (the difference between positive and negative ratings) stood at +27 points. From 2006 to 2013, it declined to +13 points, as the anti-Western narrative of Putin's inner circle began to take shape. Following the annexation of Crimea and the initial open conflicts with the West, the balance of attitudes dropped to -48 points (2014-2017). However, this negative balance decreased to -24 points in 2018 and stood at -7 points in 2019-2021. During the current war, the negative balance of opinions has predictably plummeted to -58 points. The dynamics of attitudes towards the European Union are similar: +57 points in the early 2000s, a decline to +42 points in 2006-2013, -30 points in the immediate post-Crimea years, -14 points in 2018, and +7 points in 2019-2021. During the current war, assessments of the EU have dropped to a negative balance of -49 points.

Attitudes towards China have changed accordingly. In the 2000s, roughly equal numbers of Russians believed that China did and did not pose a threat to Russian interests, according to another FOM survey. After the annexation of Crimea and the rift with the West, 55% believed that China posed no threat to Russia, while 25% thought otherwise. With the onset of the current war, the share of those supporting the first viewpoint increased to 70%, while those with the second viewpoint decreased to 15%.

In this sense, Russians’ views of their  new geopolitical horizon appear conditional. Unlike Europe, Russia does not have several centuries of intensive interaction and neighbourly relations with China, Iran, and India. If the war were to end and tensions were to decrease, it is highly likely that the long-term balance of geopolitical 'closeness' would begin to restore itself.

Do you think the rise of China is more likely to threaten or not threaten Russia's interests? % of respondents surveyed


Read more

18.06 Polls Analytics Pro-War Spring: Support for the war in Russia is growing amid economic prosperity and belief in imminent victory The spring increase in support for the 'special military operation' among Russians is linked to the overall improvement in social sentiments and heightened confidence in Russia's advantage on the battlefield. However, the poll results are likely to inaccurately reflect public preferences: in reality, the proportion of those not sympathetic to the war may be about one and a half times higher than what we see in the poll distributions. 14.05 Polls Analytics The War of Narratives: By imposing its interpretation of the terrorist attack at Crocus City Hall, the Kremlin has been able to absolve itself of responsibility for the failure and also influence the growth of support for the war According to polls, about 65% of Russians support the Kremlin's version of events that Ukrainian and Western security services were behind the terrorist attack at Crocus City Hall. The propaganda-imposed framing of an ‘existential’ confrontation with the West has helped the authorities mitigate the catastrophic failure of the security services, which failed to prevent the terrorist attack despite warnings. 14.05 Polls Expertise Between Moderate Xenophobia and Low Tolerance: The perception of migrants after the terror attack at Crocus City Hall Vladimir Zvonovsky, Alexander Khodykin After the terrorist attack at Crocus City Hall, the number of attacks on Central Asian migrants and anti-migrant statements by Russian authorities and politicians has markedly increased. However, polling data does not indicate a surge in xenophobia, which remains at a moderate level, rather it shows a majority loyal to the authorities, who are not receiving signals of tolerance from above. It is these signals that fuel their ‘suspicion’ towards migrants.

Подпишитесь на Re: Russia в Telegram, чтобы не пропускать новые материалы!
Подпишитесь на Re: Russia 
в Telegram!

Между Китаем и Беларусью: война изменила представление россиян об их друзьях и врагах, но новая картина геополитической солидарности выглядит искусственной и конъюнктурной


Беларусь и Китай выглядят в глазах россиян сегодня главными союзниками на геополитической арене. За ними следуют Индия и Иран, ворвавшиеся в круг «друзей» благодаря войне, а Казахстан, наоборот, теряет симпатии жителей России и ощущается ими как отдаляющаяся страна, свидетельствуют опросы общественного мнения. Степень враждебности в отношении США и ЕС достигла максимумов, при этом впервые в кругу наиболее враждебных государств оказались Германия и Франция. Однако, как показывают долгосрочные ряды, перепады отношения к США, странам Запада и Китаю сильно зависят от информационного фона и пропагандистских кампаний. Нынешняя картина геополитических союзников и противников России выглядит конъюнктурной и не соответствует долгосрочным линиям притяжения и отталкивания во взаимных отношениях.

В полном согласии с официальной доктриной и пропагандой геополитический горизонт россиян разворачивается от Запада к Азии и глобальному Югу. Наиболее дружественными России, согласно недавнему опросу ФОМ, респонденты считают Беларусь (78%) и Китай (72%). Это два ее настоящих стратегических партнера. С большим отрывом за ними следует Индия (39%), вдвое нарастившая симпатии россиян за последнее время (в 2019 году среди дружественных стран ее называли 21% опрошенных). Казахстан, наоборот, потерял примерно столько же: в 2019 году дружественной страной его называли 49%, в 2023-м — только 28%. За ними следуют Турция (27%), Иран (25%) и Бразилия (17%). Причем Иран и Бразилия в 2019 году были для россиян практически совсем незаметны (дружественными их называли 7 и 3% соответственно).

Карта врагов России также претерпела некоторые изменения. Наиболее недружественными россияне по-прежнему видят США (82%) и Украину. Причем уровень неприязни к Украине не изменился с 2019 года (67% против 66%). А вот дальше происходит резкая консолидация «недружественности» в отношении Германии и Франции. В 2019 году Германию видели недружественной лишь 13%, в среднем в 2010-е годы — 20% опрошенных, а сегодня — 50%. Отношение к Франции было достаточно неровным в последние 10 лет, но в среднем недружественной ее считали 11% респондентов, а в последнем замере — 36%. Великобританию считает недружественной почти каждый второй ответивший полстерам россиянин, в предыдущие 10 лет рейтинг ее недружественности в среднем составлял 27%.

Список «дружественности» непосредственно коррелирует со списком самых важных в представлении россиян экономических партнеров. Здесь безусловным лидером является Китай (ключевым экономическим партнером его называют 70% — против 47% в 2019 году). В то же время в рейтинге стран, с которыми России легче всего найти общий язык, Китай отметили 34%. Обратная ситуация с Беларусью: 52% отметили ее среди самых важных экономических партнеров и 75% — по второму критерию. 

Следом за ними по значимости экономического сотрудничества идут Индия (32% — россияне оценили поставки в страну большей части российской нефти), Турция, Казахстан и Иран. В 2010-е годы четвертую строчку в списке наиболее важных экономических партнеров стабильно занимала Германия: в среднем ее отмечали 23% опрошенных, в 2023-м — только 7%. Казахстан в рейтинге экономической значимости не изменил своего положения, а вот по критерию наличия «общего языка» и взаимопонимания сместился вниз: в среднем в 2010-е годы по этому критерию его отмечали 39% опрошенных, а в этом году — 30%.

Похожая картина наблюдается в опросе «Левада-центра». Лидерами рейтинга «союзников» России остаются Беларусь (77%), Китай (52% против 39% в 2021 году), Индия (31% против 13%), Казахстан (26% против 34% в 2021-м) и Армения. Главным врагами РФ выглядят США и ЕС. 

Впрочем, следует отметить, что враждебность к «коллективному Западу» и «дружба навек» с Китаем вовсе не являются какой-то устойчивой константой взглядов россиян и крайне зависимы от информационного фона и пропагандистских кампаний. До 2005 года положительный баланс симпатий и антипатий к США (разница положительных и отрицательных оценок) составлял +27 пунктов. В 2006–2013 годах он упал до +13 — примерно в это время в околопутинских элитах начинает формироваться антизападнический нарратив. После аннексии Крыма и первого открытого конфликта с Западом отрицательный баланс оценок равнялся –48 пунктам (2014–2017), но уже в 2018 году уменьшился до –24, а в 2019–2021-м составил –7. В ходе нынешней войны он предсказуемо упал до –58 пунктов. Картина динамики отношения к ЕС очень похожа: +57 пунктов в начале 2000-х годов, снижение до +42 пунктов в 2006–2013-м, –30 в первые годы после аннексии Крыма, –14 в 2018 году и +7 в 2019–2021-м. В ходе нынешней войны отрицательный баланс оценок ЕС упал до –49 пунктов.

Соответственно, менялось и отношение к Китаю. В 2000-е годы примерно равные доли россиян считали, что Китай угрожает и не угрожает российским интересам, согласно еще одному опросу ФОМ. После аннексии Крыма и ссоры с Западом 55% считали, что Китай ничем не угрожает России, и 25% думали наоборот. После начала нынешней войны доля сторонников первой точки зрения выросла до 70%, а второй — сократилась до 15%.

В этом смысле новый геополитический горизонт российского общественного мнения выглядит достаточно конъюнктурным. В отличие от Европы, Россию не связывают с Китаем, Ираном и Индией несколько веков интенсивного взаимодействия и соседства. С высокой вероятностью в случае окончания войны и снижения напряженности противостояния долгосрочный баланс геополитической «близости» начнет восстанавливаться.

Как вы считаете, усиление Китая скорее угрожает или скорее не угрожает интересам России? % от числа опрошенных


Читайте также

18.06 Опросы Аналитика Провоенная весна: поддержка войны в России выросла на фоне ощущения экономического благополучия и веры в скорую победу Весенний рост поддержки «СВО» среди россиян связан с общим улучшением социальных настроений и возросшей уверенностью в преимуществе России на поле боя. Но результаты опросов, скорее всего, неточно отражают общественные предпочтения: в реальности доля не сочувствующих войне может быть примерно в полтора раза выше, чем мы видим в опросных распределениях. 14.05 Опросы Аналитика Война нарративов: навязав интерпретацию теракта в «Крокус Сити Холле», Кремлю удалось снять с себя ответственность за провал и повлиять на рост поддержки войны По данным опросов, около 65% россиян поддерживают версию Кремля о том, что за терактом в «Крокус Сити Холле» стоят украинские и западные спецслужбы. Навязанный пропагандой фрейм «экзистенциального» противостояния с Западом помог властям купировать катастрофический провал спецслужб, не сумевших, несмотря на предупреждения, предотвратить теракт. 14.05 Опросы Экспертиза Между умеренной ксенофобией и низкой толерантностью: восприятие мигрантов после теракта в «Крокус Сити Холле» Владимир Звоновский, Александр Ходыкин После теракта в «Крокус Сити Холле» число нападений на мигрантов из Центральной Азии и антимигрантских высказываний со стороны российских властей и политиков заметно выросло. Однако данные опросов не фиксируют всплеска ксенофобии, остающейся на умеренном уровне, но в большей степени свойственной лояльному властям большинству, которое не получает сигналов толерантности сверху. Скорее наоборот, именно эти сигналы и подпитывают его «подозрительность» к мигрантам.