19.09 Review

Two thirds of Americans believe the US should support Ukraine until it returns all occupied territories


These are the results of a Gallup poll conducted at the end of August. 36% of Americans consider American assistance to Ukraine to be insufficient, and only 31% believe that a peace deal as soon as possible is in the US’s best interests, even at the cost of Ukraine's territorial losses. The mood among the Republican Party’s supporters is murkier: 43% consider American assistance excessive. On the whole, however, American support for Ukraine seems to have grown over the summer.

While much attention has been paid to the dynamics of European public opinion regarding the war in Ukraine, corresponding opinions among Americans have drawn relatively little attention. While the United States will not be freezing this winter, the consequences of the energy war have been indirectly affecting US markets, and the position of American voters largely determines how cautious or, conversely, how decisive the White House will be in helping Ukraine.

In August, Gallup asked Americans two questions about the events in Ukraine. In the first part of the survey, respondents were asked what, in their opinion, the United States should aim to achieve in the Ukrainian-Russian conflict: to end the war as soon as possible, even if Russia retains the occupied territories, or to return these territories to Ukraine, even if this prolongs the conflict. 31% were in favour of the former and 66% of the latter. Pro-Ukrainian sentiments were more pronounced among people over 65 (75%) and those with a higher education (74%). But the main divide on this issue runs along the line of party preferences. While 79% of Democratic Party voters hold pro-Ukrainian views, supporters of the first and second options are divided equally among Republicans (46% versus 50%). However, among independent voters, the distribution is the same as in the whole cohort: 64% are ready to support Ukraine in returning its occupied territories, and 34% want the war to end as soon as possible.

In the second part of the survey, respondents were asked whether American aid to Ukraine is excessive, sufficient, or insufficient. The answers were as follows: 24% - 38% - 36%. It should be noted that these figures are significantly higher than the data of the May poll of the McCourtney Institute for Democracy, in which 31% of respondents considered the provided assistance = to be excessive, and only 25% considered it to be insufficient.

In the answers to this question, pro-Ukrainian sentiments were once again stronger among the elderly (46% consider the amount of aid provided to Ukraine to be insufficient, possibly projecting their experience of life during the Cold War onto the situation) and the educated (42%). Just like in the first part of the poll, supporters of the Republican Party showed much more isolationism: 43% of Republicans consider American assistance to Ukraine excessive, while only 9% of supporters of the Democratic Party agree. 46% of Democratic voters consider assistance to be insufficient, opposed to only 30% of Republican voters.

It’s important to not that not only are the answers very different, but the position of the Democrats in relation to Ukraine looks much more consolidated, while the Republicans are split in half on both issues (if we contrast the position "aid is excessive" with the positions "aid is sufficient" and "not enough aid").

It should be noted that the Gallup poll was conducted before the successful counter-offensive of the Ukrainian army, but after the impressive strikes against Russian military rear lines, inflicted with the help of HIMARS systems.

Две трети американцев считают, что США должны поддерживать Украину до тех пор, пока она не вернет все оккупированные территории


Таковы данные опроса Gallup, проведенного в конце августа. 36% американцев считают помощь, оказываемую Америкой Украине, недостаточной, и лишь 31% считает, что в интересах США скорейшее заключение мира, пусть даже ценой территориальных потерь Украины. Впрочем, среди сторонников Республиканской партии настроения более сдержанные: 43% из них считают американскую помощь даже чрезмерной. Тем не менее в целом поддержка Украины со стороны американцев за лето, по всей видимости, выросла.

При том что динамике европейского общественного мнения в отношении к войне в Украине уделяется значительное внимание, соответствующие взгляды американских избирателей обсуждаются мало. Хотя Соединенным Штатам не предстоит мерзнуть этой зимой, последствия энергетической войны опосредованно сказываются и на рынках США, и от позиции американских избирателей в значительной степени зависит, насколько осторожным или, наоборот, решительным будет Белый дом в оказании помощи Украине.

В августе Gallup задал американцам два вопроса относительно событий в Украине. В первой части опроса респондентов спрашивали, к чему, по их мнению, США должны стремится в украино-российском конфликте — к скорейшему окончанию войны, даже при сохранении Россией захваченных территорий, или к возвращению Украиной этих территорий, даже если это затянет конфликт? 66% опрошенных высказались за второй вариант, в то время как 31% — за первый. Более выражены проукраинские настроения среди людей старше 65 лет (75%) и с высшим образованием (74%). Но главный раскол в отношении этого вопроса проходит по линии партийных предпочтений: в то время как 79% избирателей Демократической партии занимают проукраинскую позицию, среди республиканских избирателей сторонники первой и второй позиции разделились поровну: 46% против 50%. Впрочем, среди независимых избирателей распределение такое же, как в целом по выборке: 64% готовы поддерживать украинцев в возвращении оккупированных территорий и 34% хотят скорейшего завершения войны.

Во второй части опроса респондентов спрашивали, является ли американская помощь Украине чрезмерной, достаточной или недостаточной? Ответы распределились соответственно в пропорции: 24% — 38% — 36%. Надо отметить, что эти цифры демонстрируют существенно бóльшую решительность американцев, чем данные майского опроса Института демократии Маккартни (The McCourtney Institute for Democracy), в котором чрезмерной оказываемую помощь считал 31% респондентов, а недостаточной — лишь 25%.

В распределении ответов на этот вопрос вновь проукраинские настроения оказались сильнее среди пожилых (46% считают помощь Украине недостаточной; по всей видимости, они проецируют здесь свой опыт жизни в условиях холодной войны) и образованных (42%). И так же как и в первой части опроса, сторонники Демократической партии демонстрируют гораздо больший изоляционизм: чрезмерной американскую помощь Украине считают 43% демократов, в то время как среди сторонников Республиканской партии этого мнения придерживаются лишь 9%. И наоборот, недостаточной помощь считают 46% демократических избирателей и только 30% республиканских.

Обращает на себя внимание не только само различие ответов, но также и то, что позиция демократов в отношении к Украине выглядит консолидированной, в то время как республиканцы по обоим вопросам расколоты пополам (если мы противопоставляем позицию «помощь чрезмерна» позициям «помощь достаточна» и «помощь недостаточна»).

Надо отметить, что опрос Gallup проводился еще до успешного контрнаступления украинской армии, но уже после впечатляющих ударов по российским военным тылам, нанесенных с помощью систем HIMARS.